Dragon Fire: Episode 82

“Do you dare to stand against me?” Alidus said, his voice booming.

Aric and the guards dropped to their knees, kneeling before Alidus.

Prince Alidus approached Aric and commanded,

“Take these men and follow me. I go to the tower to face Zephryses. This battle will not be an easy one. You must stay behind my sword.”

Aric stood and turned to the guards.

“Arise, men. Take up your arms and fight with the true king.”

Getting to their feet, the guards raised his swords and shouted.

Aric turned to Alidus and said,

“Lead on, my liege”

Alidus turned to face the tower and strode towards it.

Out of the thick clouds of smoke that billowed from the castle entrance came creatures wrapped in black sludge.

“Onward, men! Stand and fight!” Aric yelled as they moved forward.

“You shall not change my course,” Alidus said.

With a sweep of his hand, the creatures exploded in fire as Alidus drew closer. Raising his hand, he sent out a stream of fire that raced through the air consuming the smoke.

As Alidus neared the entrance, he heard a rumbling voice from the tower.

“Face me, child. I overcame death. I shall overcome you.”

With a heart of steel, Alidus valiantly marched into the tower.

“Stay back but not far,” Alidus ordered as he increased the heat, tearing away at the smoke.

Aric and the guards followed Alidus up the winding stone staircase to a landing where the smoke cleared.

There they came upon a frightened Nesmoru in a fighting stance.

“I cannot let you pass,” he insisted with shaking hands.

“As satisfying as it would be to end your life, I shall leave your fate to another,” Alidus said.

Stepping aside, he said,

“Uncle, greet your son.”

Aric stepped forward, his sword raised.

Nesmoru took a quick breath as he stared at Aric.

“I shall leave you two now,” Alidus said.

Turning back to the stairs, Alidus commanded,

“Guards, come with me.”

As the men followed him up the stairs, Nesmoru kept his eyes on Aric.

“You are mistaken. I have no offspring,” he said.

“Having a son was not your intent when you raped my mother and left her for dead!” Aric growled.

“I will need more detail. I have known many a wench,” Nesmoru replied.

“It happened during the war. You attacked her then tossed her aside like something without value. Had it not been for the monks of the monastery, she would have died,” Aric thundered.

Nesmoru paused, lifted his face to consider, and then said,

“Oh yes. I do remember her.”

He leaned forward a bit and sneered,

“She was in alliance with the siblings and wanted my help. I told her I would help but expected a favor in return.”

Aric tightened his grip on the hilt of his sword.

“I simply wanted a kind word spoken about how I had helped her, but before I could say anything, she had disrobed,” Nesmoru laughed. “I knew it would not take much to get her in that position again.”

Taking delight in Aric’s obvious anguish, he studied him for a moment.

“You are stronger than the others to hold back your blade. But no matter. There is no saving this world, my boy. The Master will soon overtake both you and the prince and claim his land. No one can defeat him. Should you actually succeed in striking me down, the Master will simply bring me back.”

Then extending the blade of his sword, Nesmoru lunged at Aric. Aric quickly spun out of the way and drove both his swords through Nesmoru’s back.

Pushing him to the edge of the landing, Aric lifted him and said,

“If so, then I shall simply kill you again.”

Pulling the blades free, Aric turned Nesmoru around to face him. His eyes widened in surprise, Nesmoru gasped for breath as blood poured from the wounds, soaking into his clothes.

“Goodbye, Father,” Aric said pushing Nesmoru over the wall.

As Nesmoru fell to the ground, Aric wiped the blood from his swords and sheathed them.

“I must hurry. Prince Alidus may need my help,” he thought.

 

*          *          *

 

When Alidus reached the top of the tower, he stopped when he saw the twisted decomposing form of what was once a man. Alidus knew that this decaying vessel held the spirit of the once High Priest Zephryses.

“Your new form seems to have failed you, Zephryses,” Alidus observed.

“Zephryses is no more. I am Zulagareth, and I would have your vessel if it were not for the power within you.”

“You are reprehensible to all that is pure and good,” Alidus spat.

“You would do well to conceal your arrogance, boy. Your power cannot stop me from killing you,” Zulagareth growled.

When the guards who had followed Alidus reached him, they poured into the room. Instantly, Alidus realized his mistake. Zulagareth opened his hands and smoke poured out, filling the room. All around him, Alidus could hear the men screaming.

“Surrender, boy. You cannot triumph over someone who has already defeated—”

Zulagareth was interrupted when Alidus suddenly burst into flames that shot out in every direction then exploded upwards through the roof.

Alidus looked down at the burned corpse of Zulagareth.

“Your power has little worth,” Alidus said.

“Up here, boy,” Zulagareth called.

Alidus looked up and saw a great cloud of black smoke swirling above him.

“In this form, you have no hope of destroying me,” Zulagareth boasted. “Perhaps you should have brought your friends.”

“I did,” Alidus returned.

At that moment, two majestic dragons swooped down from the clouds, landing on the castle keep.

“Clever,” Zulagareth said as the black cloud began to swirl. “I can do that as well.”

From inside the cloud, a dragon as black as the blackest night crawled forth and roared, sending out a stream of flame from its mouth that engulfed Alidus.

Published in: on February 16, 2017 at 6:10 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2017/02/16/dragon-fire-episode-82/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

