The Train Episode 59

Michael slid his legs to the floor and sat up straight in the chair.

“Wait a minute, Doc,” he said. “How is it we saved the kid but not the mother?”

Dr. Ricer shrugged, “I don’t know, but as it stands now, the police will arrive and find the boy sitting outside on the fire escape while his mother lies in bed, dead from strangulation.”

“Any idea who’s responsible?” Nicole asked.

“I’m afraid not, but we must find out quickly. Every moment—”

Ricer abruptly stopped when a police officer walked in the club’s front door.

When he spotted Cynthia Cooper stepping off the stage and walking toward the bar, he headed over.

Cynthia’s son Kenneth rose from his chair and came over to his mother. His eyebrows were raised as though he had a question. As she stood listening, she suddenly saw the cop and pushed the boy out of the way.

The only sounds in the club were smooth, soft jazz, so Michael didn’t have to move in too close to eavesdrop on their conversation.

“Morgan, what are you doing here, sweetheart?” Cynthia asked.

“‘I’ve got some bad news about Terry,” Morgan replied.

“I hope he’s okay,” Cynthia said softly, feigning concern.

“I’m afraid not,” Morgan returned. “You’d better sit down.”

With an anxious look, Cynthia followed Morgan’s prompt and seated herself.

“Do you know who Terry was working for?” Morgan asked.

“Well, I understand he works for some dangerous men. But as far as names go, no I don’t really know,” Cynthia said.

“This is important,” Morgan said. “Think carefully. Has Terry spoken to anyone or worked with anyone just recently?”

“Other than Armstrong, no not that I recall,” Cynthia said.

“Did he tell you anything about his business or anything that he felt might be important?” Morgan asked.

“No, Morgan. He never really talks to me about that stuff. Why? What’s wrong?” Cynthia asked.

Morgan paused and said, “Terry’s dead. Looks like he was involved in some sort of shootout at a warehouse not far from here.”

Cynthia gasped and brought her hands up to her mouth in shock.

“Oh no! Anyone else hurt?” she asked.

“Oh yeah,” Morgan said, his eyes widening. “A lot of people were found dead at the scene. Terry was just one of them.”

Morgan reached out and took her hand.

“Thats why it’s so important you tell me everything Terry told you right up to his death. Anything you think might be important. Something that would give us a clue as to who’s responsible for this heinous crime. “

Cynthia lowered her head then after a moment, she looked up at Morgan.

“Sorry, Morgan. I cant recall anything,” she said shaking her head.

“Did he give you anything to keep for him?” Morgan asked.

“No,” Cynthia replied.

“Please think. There’s nothing?” Morgan pressed.

“No, Morgan! Stop hounding me! I’ll let you know if I think of anything,” Cynthia snapped.

“I’m sorry,” Morgan said standing up. “I’ve got to go, but I’ll keep in touch.”

When the officer stood up and turned to leave, Michael returned to Ricer.

“Who’s the cop?”

“Morgan Lindsay. Local police officer. He grew up with Wilson. He goes on to become a detective then retires to a desk after being shot in a hold up.”

As Lindsay headed for the front door, Michael moved to intercept him.

“Officer, I couldn’t help but notice you were speaking to that lady over there about someone named Terry. That wouldn’t be Terry Herbert Wilson would it?” Michael asked.

Lindsay looked at Michael for a moment then asked,

“What’s your name?”

“William Spencer. I’m a private investigator looking into Mr. Wilson’s involvement with local crime figure Anthony Armstrong. I was hoping we might be able to share notes. I could sure use your help in figuring out what happened,” Michael said.

“Spencer, I don’t have time for some gumshoe getting in my way,” Lindsay said, sidestepping Michael.

“I know for a fact somebody was there who isn’t among the dead,” Michael said.

Lindsay stopped in his tracks and turned around to face Michael.

“What are you talking about?”

“A good magician never reveals his secret,” Michael smiled.

Lindsay took a step closer, getting into Michael’s face, and threatened,

“If you’re withholding information, I could have you arrested.”

“Something tells me you don’t want what I know getting out,” Michael bluffed.

* * *

“So what now?” Nicole asked Dr. Ricer

“I have no idea,” he sighed.

“If we can’t stop Cynthia Cooper’s murder, what will happen to the boy?” Nicole asked looking toward the child.

“He will go into an orphanage then with a foster family. And at the age of thirty-five, he dies from a drug overdose,” Ricer explained.

“So Wilson was the killer after all,” Nicole added.

“One of the killers apparently,” Ricer said.

“One? What do you mean?” Nicole asked confused.

“It seems Ms. Cooper has a list of people standing in line to kill her. Stop one, and we just open a space for another,” Ricer said.

“Anyway we can win this one?” Nicole asked.

“Honestly?” Ricer said. “I don’t think so.”

Published in: on April 16, 2016 at 5:36 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2016/04/16/the-train-episode-59/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

