The Exile: Episode 66

At Achilles’ startling announcement, I felt every muscle in my body tense up.

“What!?” I blurted out, forgetting that I was supposed to remain silent.

“What does he mean he’s wired the ballroom to blow?” I asked myself.

A look of panic flashed across Isabel’s face but she quickly regained her composure.

“David, dearest,” she said, “I know you. I know what you’re up to. You think if there are witnesses, I won’t kill you or this annoying little pest. You think image is important to Isabel. She doesn’t want to make a scene, so she’ll play along. Well that’s where you’re wrong. I’ve grown far beyond the little girl you left.”

At that, Isabel stood like a queen and motioned to one of her guards. She whispered something to him I couldn’t hear then he made his way to the band and stopped the music.

“Excuse me everyone,” she announced. “I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it seems there is a problem with tonight’s dinner, and we will have to reschedule the festivities. Our staff and valet attendants will see you safely to your cars. You will be reimbursed for tonight and notified once this evening’s gala have been rescheduled. I am so sorry for any inconvenience.”

The murmur of voices filled the ballroom as the crowd made its way to the exits.

While the room slowly emptied, I noticed that a dozen of Isabel’s armed guards remained, along with about twenty wait staff and a couple of lingering guests engaged in a private conversation.

Isabel sat down and looked over at me.

“See, dear, this embarrassment? I will easily recover. But death? That’s not something you come back from. Now you and all your little friends come out here or I shall kill this pest right now.”

After a long moment of silence, a door at the far end of the room opened and Achilles, Heckle, and Blackbeard walked out to the main floor.

“Let them go, Isabel. This is between you and me,” Achilles said.

“This has nothing to do with you and me. It has everything to do with power. I had it and wanted more. But his brother and that spineless meddler Jackson were in my way.”

Rising to her feet, she motioned to one of her guards and gave the order,

“Take them.”

The guard pulled Delilah and me out of our chairs and walked us to the center of the room next to Achilles.

“You see, love, all I have to do is a little clean up, some repair work on my reputation, and I’ll be fine. But you? This time you won’t be back from where I’m sending you.”

She spread out her arms in a show of power and watched proudly as her men held their guns at me and the others.

“Anything more you wish to add,” Isabel asked, “before I end this and you?”

Achilles looked over at Blackbeard. After scanning the room, Blackbeard returned his gaze to Isabel then drawled, “Yarr.”

Suddenly every member of the wait staff, the two lingering guests, and all of Isabel’s guards turned, each pointing a weapon at her.

As Isabel’s face went white, Achilles strolled towards her.

“My dear,” he began, “I knew you’d never give in to blackmail. But,” he paused, “you were always good at clearing a room.”

“They’re all working for you?” Isabel asked.

“Actually, they’re all his,” Achilles said gesturing to Blackbeard.

The large man waved and said,

“Ma’am.”

“The only people on your side were the ones you told to leave,” Achilles chuckled. “Now didn’t I always tell you to properly screen your help?”

Published in: on October 18, 2015 at 7:08 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2015/10/18/the-exile-episode-66/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

