The Exile: Episode 63

The stunned guard moaned and put his hand up to his head. As he struggled to stand, Achilles looked down at the man and smiled,

“Cute how hard they try. Don’t you think?” he said.

Stepping over the injured man, Achilles walked over to me.

“He’s getting up,” I cried, as the guard started to rise.

“Wait,” Achilles said.

The guard rose to his feet, staggered for a moment then fell to the floor.

Watching as the man collapsed, Achilles said, “Yep. Looks like he hit a wall stud with that head of his. If he hasn’t forgotten fourth grade English, he’ll at least be dizzier than an Irishman on Saint Patrick’s Day.”

“Come on, man. Let’s get out of here,” Achilles said. “You’re not tied down, and I sure ain’t carrying you.”

I slowly stood up, keeping my eyes on this strange rescuer.

“What can we do, just the two of us?” I asked.

“Oh don’t worry. There’s more,” Achilles assured me.

He retrieved the pistol from the guard’s belt and passed it to me.

“Whom do you work for?” I inquired.

Achilles turned to me and asked,

“Have you read this comic series called Starfall? Well actually it’s really more of a three part graphic novel. Anyway, there’s this hero in there named Jericho. It’s the classic struggle of a no name hero who shows up, saves the day, falls, then returns to give his life, thereby redeeming himself.”

“What?” I asked confused.

“Don’t get me wrong. Achilles is a great name, but personally, I’d rather be called Jericho.”

Achilles paused and said, “We should go before the other one comes back.”

“Right,” I said, following him out of the room.

“I know it’s silly to be named after a superhero, but that’s really why I got into this. I always wanted to be a hero. Like I said, Achilles, the undefeated warrior of Greek mythology, had a good name. But seriously, why can’t I choose my own name instead of having it thrown at me like a monkey flinging poo.”

“What are you talking about?” I finally snapped.

Achilles stopped jabbering and looked at me.

“Who are you, and why are you helping me?” I asked now that I had his attention.

Achilles gave me a big grin and said,

“Heckle told you already.”

When he saw my look of bewilderment, he asked,

“Remember? He said it was time to call in the big guns.”

I thought back then said, “That sounds familiar.”

Flashing me a big toothy grin, Achilles laughed,

“Well, buddy, that’s me.”

Published in: on July 15, 2015 at 2:46 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2015/07/15/the-exile-episode-63/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

