The Exile: Episode 62

I watched in stunned silence as the woman disappeared into the hallway.

Everything I had gone through, everything I had done, was ending in what might be the worst possible way—watching my friends die.

I kept quiet and studied the two guards in the room with me. Although each man carried a holstered gun, I knew I had to try to get away and warn my friends. How could I just sit in this chair and wait for their execution? The two men were under strict orders to keep an eye on me until she returned, which might not be long. I figured I didn’t have much time.

I decided to try and talk to them, maybe negotiate. What could it hurt?

“What now?” I asked.

“Shut up!” one of the guards barked.

As the other guard walked toward a nearby door, he said,

“Hey. Watch him. I gotta’ go to the john.”

The first guard nodded and the other man opened the door, stepped into a bathroom, and closed the door behind him.

“May I go too?” I tried.

“I said to shut up!” the guard barked.

Negotiating with these two was not going to be easy. So far, I hadn’t been able to say much of anything. Trying not to panic as my time ran out, I looked around for something to serve as a weapon. Just then there was a knock at the door.

“Who is it?” the guard in the room yelled.

“Open the door! It’s important!” came the answer from the hallway.

“Who is it?” the guard yelled again.

“Now!” the voice barked.

The guard paused for a moment then walked over to the door and opened it.

Standing in the hallway was a young man with his black hair slicked back. He wore snug blue jeans and a crisp white button up shirt.

“There’s a problem. One of his cohorts,” he said, nodding toward me, “showed up and is waving a gun around. Idiot’s probably a distraction, but she needs help down there.”

The man’s eyes swept the room then asked,

“Where’s the other guard?”

“In the can,” the guard answered.

“Well there’s no time. Get down there, and I’ll bring him up to speed when he comes out.”

When the guy hesitated, the young man snapped,

“Now! There’s no time.”

At that, the guard scrambled out into the hall.

“Go! Hurry!” the young man ordered.

He watched as the guard disappeared down the hall then turned toward me and smiled.

“Greetings,” he said. “That was kinda’ fun.”

“Who are you?” I asked.

“You’re the exile,” he said, “and they call me Achilles.”

“Achilles?” I asked. “Why Achilles?”

“Because like the mythical figure, I have only one weakness.”

Before I could ask what that was, the bathroom door opened and the guard came out.

He took one look at the young man and his eyes bugged out.

“You!” he snapped.

“Me,” Achilles said.

Just as the guard dove at him, he stepped to the side, sending the guard slamming into the wall.

“I’m gold. . .unless someone recognizes me,” Achilles said.

Published in: on June 22, 2015 at 12:31 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2015/06/22/the-exile-episode-62/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

