The Exile: Episode 61

When the car pulled away from the curb, the man seated next to me held out a hood and told me to put it on. Slipping it over my head, I leaned back against the seat and waited.

After a long and uncomfortable ride, the car finally stopped and I heard the door open.

“Get out,” the man said, grabbing my elbow.

He kept his hand on me, leading me across the pavement. Suddenly he stopped and I heard the squeak of door hinges and felt a blast of cold air. Traffic noises told me we were not in a residential area. We moved forward, our heels clicking on the tile floor, and headed down what seemed like a long hallway. Shivering in the cold, I wished I had worn a jacket. Just then we stopped and I heard the ding of an elevator bell as the doors opened and we stepped into the car. Light music played in the background while the elevator moved upwards.

When the elevator stopped, we stepped out and the man turned me toward the left down a second hallway. After a moment, he paused and I heard a door open just before I was pulled into a carpeted room.

After pushing me into a chair, he pulled off the hood. Struggling to adjust my eyes to the bright fluorescent lighting, I began to look around. I was sitting in a red leather chair and across the room was a couch with a fireplace on the adjoining wall. Near the fireplace, a tall brunette was seated behind a massive desk. Dressed in a flowing black gown with her hair twisted atop her head, she quietly scribbled something on a pad before removing her designer glasses and looking up at me.

“So you’re the one they call the exile?”

I simply nodded.

“Your brother was one of my closest friends before he double crossed me,” she said.

“How did he double cross you?” I asked.

“Things were going perfectly until he decided to grow a conscience. He spilled everything to that redheaded ex-wife of his,” she explained.

Dropping her pen on the pad, she stood and slowly stretched her back.

“She was a problem, that is until I solved it,” she laughed, toying with one of her diamond earrings.

“Imagine my surprise when I thought your brother was as good as dead only to see you walk out. Well at least that’s settled now. All that’s left is you and that band of rats you run with.”

“You promised to let them go,” I reminded her.

“Technically, I didn’t promise any such thing. Now don’t you worry. I have a dinner engagement, so you get to sit here and think about how much you’ll miss them,” she said with a smile.

Draping a sheer black wrap over her shoulders, she reached for a small black sequined purse then headed for the door.

“Don’t let him leave,” she ordered the guard.

“Don’t worry, my dear,” she said, pausing to look back at me. “I won’t forget you. Soon I’ll return to finish things.”

Opening the door, she took one step into the hallway then turned around to face me.

“Question, Do you want to die first or after your friends?”

Before I could respond, she waved her hand dismissing the idea.

“Forget I asked. It will be much more entertaining if you watch them die first.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/the-exile-episode-61/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

