The Exile: Episode 55

With arms slightly bent and fingers around the weapon’s grip, the guard held his firearm with unsteady hands.

“Freeze!” he warned, his jaw tightening.

Although I had no intention of engaging or hurting this man, he didn’t know that. He was just a guy doing his job.

Lifting my left hand into the air in what I hoped looked like a submissive position, I slowly lowered my pistol and gently placed it on the floor.

“It’s okay,” I said, standing to my feet with both hands raised.

“Back away,” the guard ordered, a tremble in his voice.

“I understand how this looks, but I don’t want to hurt anybody. I just need to leave. That’s all,” I tried to explain.

“Don’t move!” the guard ordered.

“Just let me go,” I said, taking a step toward the front door.

“I said freeze!” the gray-haired security guard barked.

“Okay. Okay,” I replied.

“Star light, star bright,” Cazonetti said as he suddenly stepped out of the stairwell behind the guard.

At the sound of the voice, the guard whipped around. I could see the fear on the old man’s face as he realized he was outmaneuvered.

“Sir,” I called, trying to get the guard’s attention.

When he looked at me, his eyes darting back and forth, I said,

“We don’t want any trouble here. We just want to leave.”

“None whatsoever?” Cazonetti asked, his tone reflecting a mock sadness.

“Stop it. You’re not helping,” I scolded.

“Fine,” Cazonetti said, lowering his arms in resignation.

“We’re not going to hurt you or anybody else,” I assured the guard. “All we want to do is leave.”

With a look of relief, the guard had just begun to lower his weapon, his hands still shaking, when the doors around us suddenly flew open and suited men came pouring into the lobby.

“It’s Section 8!” Cazonetti yelled.

“What?” I asked.

“The guys in suits. Section 8, mentally unfit for service. Unwanted, man! ” Cazonetti explained.

Section Eight didn’t fit into the mythological theme Heckle had been going for, but now was not the time for debate. I counted twelve men as they spread out, taking secured positions around the lobby.

“Drop your weapons,” one of them ordered.

In a panic, the security guard snapped and fired at one of the men in suits.

As the bullet struck the man in the chest, I sprang forward, grabbing the guard and pulling him to the floor. I knew I had to get him down before he was killed.

Published in: on November 15, 2014 at 6:41 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2014/11/15/the-exile-episode-55/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

