The Exile: Episode 54

As I waited in the elevator shaft for the two men to leave, I tried not to breathe, but my breath kept coming loud and fast.

“Shut up!” I scolded. “They’ll hear you!”

Trying to put more distance between the men and me, I decided to move back a bit from the hatch. Just as I pressed my palms down for support, the metal beneath my hands creaked.

“What was that?” one of the men asked.

“I didn’t hear anything,” the other man responded, sounding bored with the whole thing.

“No. I heard a pop or something up there,” he said.

“What are you doing?” the second guy asked in disbelief.

“What do you think? I’m going up there and take a look,” the first man said.

When I heard a thump, I knew the man had jumped up onto the handrails. Pressing myself against the wall of the elevator shaft, as if to disappear into the steel, I held my breath and waited.

Slowly the hatch opened and I saw the man’s hand as he reached up inside. When his head popped through the opening, I panicked and kicked out. The heel of my shoe drove deep into his forehead, throwing his head back. As he fell from the hatch onto the floor of the elevator car, the other man jumped out of the way and demanded,

“Who’s up there?”

I knew I had only seconds before he started shooting.

Suddenly I had an idea.

“Please. Don’t shoot,” I cried out.

Making my way over to the open hatch, I bent over and looked down. The second man was up against the wall near the elevator buttons, his weapon raised.

“I’m coming down,” I said then straightened back up.

With a quick calculation of distance, I braced myself for what I was about to do.

Jumping back, I fell into the open hatch and grabbed the ledge with both hands. Pulling back, I swung out with my feet and caught the man in the jaw. He fell backwards, hitting his head and losing consciousness.

I let go of the hatch and dropped to the floor. When I saw that my hands were cut and bleeding, I search the men’s pockets until I found a handkerchief. Wrapping it around the worst of the cuts, I scooped up both guns and hit the button for every floor on the elevator before hopping off.

I dropped one of the pistols into my pocket and held the other down by my side as I scanned the lobby looking for Cazonetti. People were watching me with a shocked expression and quickly running away. Some backed up and ducked behind furniture.

“Freeze!” someone shouted.

I turned my face in the direction of the voice and saw a graying security guard slowly approaching, his pistol drawn.

Published in: on October 20, 2014 at 2:27 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2014/10/20/the-exile-episode-54/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

