The Exile: Episode 52

As I watched, Heckle and Jeckle carried an unconscious Colin Summers.

“Interesting plan, dude,” Cazonetti said, giving me a pat on the back. “Scare the hotel manager into the only working elevator where the dynamic duo wait with gas bombs. Brilliant! Then just drag him out, and Bob’s your uncle.”

“Where’s our exit?” Heckle asked.

I scanned the skies and answered,

“Lorelei said to get Summers to the roof and she’d have our exit.”

When all I saw was an empty sky, I brought my gaze down to Jeckle.

“I don’t see anything. Better start working on a back up plan.”

“Already on it,” Jeckle said with a smile

“Wait!” Cazonetti exclaimed.

Following his pointed finger, I saw a helicopter in the distance then heard the thwap-thwap-thwap of its blades as it approached.

“You think that’s her?” I asked.

“Who else could get us a chopper that quick?” Cazonetti laughed.

A few minutes later, a medical helicopter landed on the roof in front of us.

The passenger door opened, and with a movement like silk, Lorelei exited the bird.

“You’re late,” Cazonetti teased as she sauntered over.

“You’re just early,” she replied confidently.

“Everything okay?” I asked.

“Of course,” Lorelei said. “You think it’s easy convincing a helicopter pilot to leave the hospital and pick us up.”

“For you? Yes,” I answered.

She smiled then said, “One problem. There isn’t enough room for everyone. Two of you will need to stay behind.”

I thought for a moment then said,

“Lorelei, you and Heckle and Jeckle take Summers to the warehouse. Cazonetti and I will find another route.”

“Are you going to be all right?” Lorelei asked turning to Cazonetti. “Cops will be swarming this place.”

“No worries, love,” Cazonetti said with a grin. “Remember, I’ve handled cops before.”

For a moment, the hint of a smile worked its way across her face only to quickly disappear.

“Good. Then I’ll ride with these idiots while you two slip out and meet us later,” Lorelei agreed.

“We’re not idiots,” Heckle said, indignantly.

“You are,” Jeckle replied.

As the three climbed into the helicopter, Cazonetti smiled, waved then walked over to the edge of the building. When the helicopter lifted, turned, and flew away, I joined him, looking down at the street below.

“You ready for this?” Cazonetti asked.

Before I could answer, three black cars pulled up outside the hotel. Their doors opened and men in suits jumped out.

“Uh oh,” Cazonetti said. “Those aren’t cops.”

Turning to me, he pointed out, “Looks like your friends showed up.”

“We’re in trouble, aren’t we?” I asked, trying to stay calm.

“Little bit,” Cazonetti said.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2014/08/17/the-exile-episode-52/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

