The Exile: Episode 35

 

My eyes closed to the glare of the sun, I waited. When no shot came, I opened my eyes and saw that the man had lowered the shotgun.

“Are you kidding me?” he asked, sounding strangely disappointed.

Another man’s voice behind me said,

“I told you he wouldn’t laugh.”

Raising my hand to my brow to shade my eyes from the sun’s glare, I strained to see the face of the man in front of me.

“I can’t believe you were ready to let them kill you!” the man said.

Then he stepped to my side and swung a large arm around my shoulder. Baffled by this behavior, I wiggled to free myself from his grip and get a good look at him. Without loosening his hold on me, he turned me around to face the man behind me.

I stared in amazement when I saw who the men were.

“What on earth?” I asked.

“Russell and Dudley,” they said, pointing to each other. “You know, Heckle and Jeckle.” I remembered these two characters from when they had helped me escape from Jackson’s

limousine, saving my life.

“What are you two doing here?” I asked.

“Well after you left Carmen, we started looking into your story. Turns out people aren’t that tough to find when they’re not trying to kill somebody,” Jeckle said.

“Right,” Heckle agreed. “So we started asking questions. It took some time, but we finally figured out what’s going on and who wants you dead.”

“What is going on?” I asked.

“We’re talking to you in the parking lot where the mayor just turned himself in,” Heckle said.

“No, I mean who’s trying to kill me?” I asked.

“Why the people who want you dead, of course,” Jeckle said smiling.

“Look,” I said in frustration, “we need to stop wasting time and leave this place now! They’re already here!”

“Who?” Heckle asked, looking around. “Who’s here?”

“The people who want me dead,” I said. “Look what they did to the mayor.”

“The mayor?” Jeckle asked.

Heckle and Jeckle exchanged a look, then each wearing a silly grin, they said in unison,

“That was us.”

“You two?” I asked.

“Yep. Boss said to keep you safe, and we couldn’t do that with the mayor biting at your heels,” Jeckle answered.

“Boss? Who’s the boss?” I asked.

“Why the one who hired us, of course,” Heckle answered.

“I think he’s asking who hired us,” Jeckle explained.

“Oh yeah,” Heckle replied.

I looked from one to the other and asked, “Well?”

When their only response was a look of confusion, I barked,

“I know you two aren’t dense. You’re just teasing, but I’m not! The people who are after me know I’m here.”

“No worries,” Jeckle said. “We’re taking you to see the boss now.”

“The boss?” I asked.

“Yep,” Heckle responded. “You know, the one who hired us. But we need to pick up someone on the way.”

Published in: on February 4, 2013 at 12:42 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/the-exile-episode-35/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

