The Exile: Episode 29

Grabbing the woman’s hand, I led her through the field of dried grass behind her house, running as quickly as we could with a small child in tow. Behind us I heard voices shouting as the men jumped out of the helicopter and began to search the house.

“Where are we going?” the woman asked.

“They have a chopper,” I said. “We’ve got to stay in the trees, under cover, and put as much distance as we can between them and us.”

I didn’t know how I was going to help the woman and her son escape. I just knew I had to.

Stopping halfway through the field, I dropped down onto my back in a patch of soft grass.

“Got to catch my breath, just for a minute. Got to keep moving. If they find us, who knows what will happen,” I said gulping in air.

“I wish you hadn’t gotten involved,” she fussed as she and the boy sat down in the grass nearby. “If you had just stayed out of this, my son and I wouldn’t be in trouble right now, running from who knows what.”

“Ma’am, I understand your hesitancy, but had I not intervened, you would have paid the price for your son’s freedom with your body and possibly your sanity,” I said.

The woman looked up at me, uncertainty in her eyes as a war of choices waged in her mind.

“Okay. We need to move,” I said, rising from the grass and extending my hand.

“Why shouldn’t I just turn you in?” she asked.

“Even if they decided to forgive you, which clearly they have no intention of doing,” I said as I gestured toward her house, now engulfed in flames, “what might they do to you?”

“They’re just some locals with too much power. What could they possibly do?”

“Ma’am, they just burned down your house, the house you said your husband built. And all his things, you said, were upstairs? Well, they’re not upstairs anymore, are they?”

I saw the grief in her face as her hand came up to her mouth and her eyes filled with tears.

“Mama?” the boy said.

“Mama’s okay, sweetie,” she reassured him as she patted his back.

“These people are more than just locals with too much power. They murdered my whole family, and they’ve been searching for me ever since. Now if you don’t want your son to grow up without a mother, I suggest you stand up and run,” I said, once again extending my hand.

She hesitated but, after glancing over at her son, reluctantly stood and took my hand.

Without another word, the three of us ran for the woods.

“On the other side of these trees, there should be a street where we can catch a ride,” she said.

“Good,” I answered.

We ran the length of the woods and finally broke through the clearing, emerging onto a neglected street riddled with deep potholes.

“When you get a ride, you and the boy go somewhere safe, somewhere they won’t think to look for you,” I suggested.

Just as I finished my warning, two trucks slid around the corner barreling towards us.

“Too late! Come on!” I shouted.

Published in: on June 13, 2012 at 3:34 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/the-exile-episode-29/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

