The Exile: Episode 18

After the plane touched down, I lightly shook Carmen to wake her. She had slept through the entire flight and was still a little groggy as we rose to exit the plane. Inside the terminal, we stopped near the baggage claim. Carmen arched her back and stretched her arms yawning.

“Wow. I must have been tired,” she said, fighting another yawn.

“I tried sleeping,” I said.

“Yeah?” Carmen asked, her mood lifting.

“Didn’t last,” I said. “Nightmares.”

Not the answer she was hoping for. I couldn’t help but notice her sudden disappointment.

“Sorry,” I apologized.

Just then I spotted a man off to the right sitting on the arm of a chair and talking into a cell. Funny thing is, he seemed more aware of us than his conversation.

I shook my head and said, “Come on.”

As we walked quietly for the exit, Carmen suggested,

“We should get some extra clothes. I feel like I’ve been in the same outfit for days.”

“We don’t need to use your card anymore,” I said.

“How come?” she asked.

“I’m no expert, but I believe they can track those things,” I explained.

“Oh right,” Carmen replied. “Well we could just use it to get some cash then stop all together. They probably already know we’re here anyway.”

Carmen trailed off when she glanced up at me.

“What’s wrong?” she asked.

My muscles tensed as my eyes swept across the terminal and stopped on the exit doors.

“We need to leave now,” I said.

“What’s wrong?” Carmen asked again.

“They are all around us,” I said, my pace quickening.

“How do you know?” Carmen asked.

“They’ve been after me for the last couple of days, so I’ve gotten pretty good at recognizing their patterns,” I said.

As we passed through the doors into the parking lot, a black limo pulled up and the door opened. A young man stepped out and held the door open for us.

“Jackson wants to speak with you,” he said.

“Too bad,” I replied.

“I’m not asking,” he responded with an icy stare.

When I saw three men inside the terminal hurrying toward us, I knew we didn’t have much time to react.

Published in: on July 5, 2011 at 9:19 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/the-exile-episode-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

