The Exile: Episode 16

As the truck bounced along, my head pounded. Still stunned from the limo accident, I finally managed to ask,

“What do you want with me?”

Neither man spoke. After a few moments of silence, I again pleaded for information.

Keeping his eyes straight ahead, the man in red flannel only said,

“We’re not allowed to tell.”

I felt my head begin to clear, so I scanned the dashboard and floorboard looking for anything that might be used as a weapon. Squeezed between the two men, I knew I would have to wait until I was let out of the truck before I could try an escape. I studied the faces of the identical men. Both had black hair sticking out from under their caps and several days’ beard growth.

“If I’m being taken to my death, I should at least be told the name of my executioner,” I insisted.

“You’re not being taken to your death,” the man in red flannel said.

“What then?” I continued.

No answer. Just then we left the road, turning onto a long stretch of gravel. The truck shook throwing rocks into the air behind us as a cloud of dust obscured our view.

Ten minutes passed in silence. I could feel myself getting angry. Finally I snapped.

“What do you want with me?” I demanded, punching my leg.

The man in blue flannel asked,

“How limber are you?”

Both men laughed as the truck slowed, pulled around behind some trees and stopped.

When the dust settled, the driver shut off the engine and slipped out.

The man in red flannel reached under the seat and came up with a pistol. He opened the passenger door and climbed out of the truck.

“Come on,” he said, waving the gun.

I hesitated then slid out of the seat.

“Follow,” he ordered and walked towards the barn.

I followed him with the man in blue flannel at my heels.

I let my head hang as I frantically tried to figure a way to escape without getting shot. But when we entered the barn, I hear a girl yell,

“Wesley!”

My head flew up, and I was startled to see Carmen run to me and wrap her arms around me.

She pulled away smiling and said,

“I’m so glad you’re all right.”

“What is this?” I asked in confusion.

“Wesley, Russell and Dudley Hughes. They’re friends of mine.”

“Howdy,” the man in red flannel said extending his hand. “I’m Russell.”

“I’m Dudley,” the other said. “Sorry about the limber joke. We were just messing with you.”

“Once I saw that Grandpa was safe, I called them to find you,” Carmen explained.

“We know there’s trouble, but we don’t mind,” Russell said.

“Heck, trouble’s part of the fun,” Dudley added.

“They agreed to help me. Are you all right?”

“I’m fine,” I answered, “but I need to get out of town. While I was in the limo, Jackson mentioned someone from my past. If I can find out what happened to her, maybe I can figure out what’s going on.”

“All right,” Carmen said.

“Last address I have for her is New York,” I explained.

“New York!” Carmen said excitedly. “Let’s go!”

Published in: on May 4, 2011 at 7:03 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/the-exile-episode-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

