The Exile: Episode 9

Afraid to move, I focused on the barrel of the gun pointed at me.

“Grandpa?” the girl hollered out.

“What do you want?” I asked her.

“Quiet!” the girl snapped.

“Grandpa?” she called again.

Although I had been on the run for just a day, I had learned not to be so trusting. Still, there was something about the young girl that made me believe she meant no harm.

“You know you shouldn’t get so close to someone when you’re holding a gun on them,” I advised.

“Why is that?” she asked.

With reflexes primed from a night of dodging bullets, I moved quickly. Grabbing the pistol, I pulled the girl toward me and with my left hand brought a fist down on her arms, folding them at the elbow and bringing the gun up to point at her chin.

“That’s why,” I said.

As I studied her, I realized that she wasn’t as young as I had thought. Some strands of her brown hair had fallen across her face, and her green eyes full of fear and anger glared out at me.

Suddenly I heard the sound of a key in the lock, and my heart jumped.

When the door opened, Clifford walked in carrying a large grocery bag in his arm.

“Grandpa!” the girl yelped and sprang for the old man.

“Carmen?” Clifford said surprised.

I quickly let go of the gun and held up my hands.

“I’m so sorry I didn’t know,” I stammered.

“Oh pish posh,” Clifford dismissed. “Carmen is a little quick to judge.”

“And you’re too trusting,” Carmen scolded grabbing the gun and pointing it at me again. “Do you even know who this is?”

“His name is. . . . Come to think of it, I never did get your name, son,” Clifford chuckled.

I quickly introduced myself. “Wesley, sir. My name is Wesley.”

“Well Wesley here needs help, Carmen, That’s all I need to know, nothing more,” Clifford said.

Carmen let out a grunt of disapproval, still pointing the gun at me.

“Put that thing away. He’s okay and besides, I don’t like guns,” Clifford said slipping the weapon from her hand.

“Wesley, my granddaughter Carmen. Carmen this is Wesley,” Clifford said.

Published in: on August 30, 2010 at 3:44 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://themasthead.wordpress.com/2010/08/30/the-exile-episode-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

